Ought you to read this?

What would not at all help me back in town was having to encounter so many places which, over time, turned into a whole ethereal bunch of monochrome memories from where I never quit gazing at your eyes in copious states. Just like a fake Latin macho who’s still closeted, I have avoided weeping, yet in lieu of such pain it is my thoracic cavity the one which perennially experiences the sensation of a swift deep falling towards an obscure abyss ever since I hugged you for the last time. In my mind and in every second of life I detail each one of my lucubrations so as to avoid the lack of reasoning and so face the latent torrent of madness which I seem to emanate every so often. Here, far away, with the austral wind from which I thought I would escape from and in the middle of these streets which in no way ought to evoke blissful visions between you and me that nowadays are not, our rupture has intensified. Just as if today I had seen you wearing those Sunday pajamas carrying your morning aroma, so hatefully divine, evanescent, virile, so familiar, so celestial, I can’t help to feel in this body of mine more fragile than ever your last embrace. Of memories it annoys me to be humanly made and to Providence I pay my respects for having written this bittersweet story which I had never thought would reach the soul I discovered I seemed to have. Our chapters were destined to be split, you turned the page, I ruminate on the last lines, there’s more and more written on our pages, I haven’t stopped thinking about my promise to you. What a queen! What a jerk! Me. Thanks, dude… Thanks for lunch, thanks for buying me the meatloaf sandwich at the fancy mall’s Subway, thanks for not turning down our monthiversary celebration on August 6th, thanks for going with me to buy tomatoes and luloes at the stingy old man’s produce store in the old village we used to travel to on vacation, thanks for the tiny frame and the birthday photos, thanks for the marathon sessions watching X-men, thanks for trying to calm me down when I got pissed off by the bus driver on 63rd St., thanks for the language lessons I taught you, thanks for the Avatar and Fullmetal Alchemist afternoons, thanks for that first kiss at the Simón Bolívar Park, thanks for being the man in my life who first held my hand out on the street, thanks for saying “yes” on that effing cold April 7th, thanks for paying my ride on 13th St. at night so I could get back home, thanks for letting me know you didn’t feel the same about me as before, thanks for your hugs on the night I told you I knew it all, thanks for all our fights and our reconciliations. Thanks for hugging me. Thanks for crying. Thanks for your kisses, for the fake ones and especially for the genuine ones. Thanks for sticking around. Thanks for getting away. Thanks for being you and letting me be myself.

Lo que no me ayudaba en lo absoluto en Bogotá era tener que pasar por tantos lugares que, con el tiempo, se tornaron en un manojo etéreo de recuerdos monócromos de donde no dejé de ver sus ojos en copiosos estados. Cual falso macho latino y enclosetado he evitado el llanto, mas en su lugar es la cavidad torácica la que perennemente experimenta la sensación de una veloz caída a un oscuro abismo desde que lo abrazara por vez última. En mi fuero interno y cada segundo del día detallo cada una de mis elucubraciones en pos de evitar la falta de razón y así enfrentar el torrente latente de locura que me da la impresión de emanar cada tanto. Acá, lejos, con el frío austral del que pensaba escapar y en medio de estas calles que de ninguna manera deberían evocarme visiones de felicidad juntos que hogaño no son, más intensa se ha vuelto la ruptura. Como si hoy mismo lo hubiera visto en esa piyama dominical con su aroma mañanero odiosamente divino, fugaz, viril, tan familiar, tan celestial, no dejo de sentir en el cuerpo ahora más frágil que nunca su último abrazo. De recuerdos me molesta humanamente estar hecho y a la Providencia le pago mis respetos por haber escrito esta agridulce historia que nunca pensé me llegara hasta el alma que descubrí parecer tener. Se nos divideron los capítulos, usted pasó la página, yo medito los últimos renglones, hay más y más escrito en ambos, no he dejado de pensar en mi promesa hacia usted. Severa flor. Severo idiota. Yo. Gracias, parce… Gracias por hacer el almuerzo, gracias por gastarme el sánduche de carnes en el Subway de Gran Estación, gracias por aceptarme la celebración de mesaversario el seis de agosto, gracias por acompañarme a comprar tomates y lulos en la verdulería del viejo carero de Fusa, gracias por el marquito y las fotos de cumpleaños, gracias por las jornadas maratónicas de X-men, gracias por tratar de calmarme cuando me agarré con el conductor del bus en la 63, gracias por dejarme darle clases, gracias por las tardes de Ávatar y de Fullmetal Alchemist, gracias por el primer beso en Simón Bolívar, gracias por ser el primer hombre de mi vida que sostuvo mi mano en la calle, gracias por decir “sí” aquel siete de abril con ese frío tan hijuemadre, gracias por pagarme el pasaje en la 13 en la noche para que regresara a la casa, gracias por decirme que ya no sentía lo mismo que al conocerme, gracias por sus abrazos la noche en que le conté que sabía todo, gracias por todas las peleas y las reconciliaciones. Gracias por abrazarme. Gracias por llorar. Gracias por los besos, por los falsos y sobretodo por los genuinos. Gracias por estar. Gracias por alejarse. Gracias por ser usted y dejarme ser yo.

Leave a Reply

